Why there is both America and North/South America ? I suggest deleting America and moving them in the relevant section.
Tom Karlo, 2009/03/10 14:04
Namespace on this page is wrong - why is it put in the “pages” branch?
ankur sethi, 2009/07/28 00:15
There is now an active Affiliate Marketer going after this page. HostingRedirect.com. He is hijacking all the links in order to get affiliate credits on signups (upto 50% of the paid value!) If you do signup, better go to a place which will give you rebates on your signup from that same commission! Surprisingly this page is pretty lucrative and it is free to advertise, you just keep checking it every day and remove your competitor's links which is what HostingRedirect person is doing!
malcom reynolds, 2009/08/10 22:32
Deleted all affiliate attribution. Will continue to do so.
Tim Dorr, 2009/09/03 08:27
Did a massive cleanup, including getting all the links properly adjusted for the new wiki syntax. That should sort everything out. Removed at least one dead link and a bunch of spam affiliate crap.
I also got rid of the dirty SEO tricks people were pulling on this page. If that keeps up, the overall SEO effect of this page will be negative… Duh!
Tim Dorr, 2009/09/03 08:35
OK, I don't know who this marc fellow is, but he needs to stop reverting my cleanup. I didn't add any spammy crap, I removed it. Check the diff if you don't believe me!
David Quigley, 2010/02/23 15:28
Just removed his link again. This guy definitely is persistent.
W. Szabó Péter, 2010/03/19 23:23
I deleted 3 links from Europe (2 from Romania, and 1 from Hungary). They definitely looked like spam, and not a Rails hosting. No mention of Ruby or Ruby on Rails on their site. (I speak both Hungarian and Romanian.)
rails/pages/railswebhosts.txt · Last modified: 2011/06/30 11:13 by pickaweb
Discussion
Why there is both America and North/South America ? I suggest deleting America and moving them in the relevant section.
Namespace on this page is wrong - why is it put in the “pages” branch?
There is now an active Affiliate Marketer going after this page. HostingRedirect.com. He is hijacking all the links in order to get affiliate credits on signups (upto 50% of the paid value!) If you do signup, better go to a place which will give you rebates on your signup from that same commission! Surprisingly this page is pretty lucrative and it is free to advertise, you just keep checking it every day and remove your competitor's links which is what HostingRedirect person is doing!
Deleted all affiliate attribution. Will continue to do so.
Did a massive cleanup, including getting all the links properly adjusted for the new wiki syntax. That should sort everything out. Removed at least one dead link and a bunch of spam affiliate crap.
I also got rid of the dirty SEO tricks people were pulling on this page. If that keeps up, the overall SEO effect of this page will be negative… Duh!
OK, I don't know who this marc fellow is, but he needs to stop reverting my cleanup. I didn't add any spammy crap, I removed it. Check the diff if you don't believe me!
Just removed his link again. This guy definitely is persistent.
I deleted 3 links from Europe (2 from Romania, and 1 from Hungary). They definitely looked like spam, and not a Rails hosting. No mention of Ruby or Ruby on Rails on their site. (I speak both Hungarian and Romanian.)